The mysterious El Duque; Church update; OF and P solutions?

In his rehab start with the AA Binghamton Mets, Orlando “El Duque” Hernandez left the game after one inning due to “foot soreness”

I’m sorry, foot soreness?  I’m training for a marathon, my entire lower body is constantly sore, but I run almost everyday.  Until he starts again, this will be the last El Duque-related post, as I will assume he is not even on the team until I see him on a major league field.

Apparently Ryan Church will not be activated immediately off the 15-day DL on Tuesday, not for any specific reason, but because the Mets are being cautious.  It would have been nice to be cautious when you put a man with a concussion on a plane to Colorado.

With outfield and apparently starting pitching holes appearing, it begs the question, do we start bringing up kids (namely, Fernando Martinez and Jonathan Niese)?  Do we trade for somebody in either or both positions?  Free agents?  Or do we keep going with what we have.  After all, it has won us 10 straight games.  I would like to see F-Mart up at some point this season, possibly with the September call-ups, but I don’t know if sticking him in the middle of a pennant race is the best thing for him.

Leave a comment